life through a viewfinder

Workshop and Christmas

Posted in Uncategorized by Emily on December 28, 2007

Things have been hellish around here since Christmas break began, and I’m a bit ashamed that I haven’t been able to keep up with my blog.

Workshop was fantastic, and I will have a bajillion pictures of it up whenever I get them from Jim… which might not be until after school starts. I had a bunch of great shots, so I’m pretty excited about that. I also learned a lot at that workshop… and it really got me pumped about taking pictures, which is always good.

It also sort of smacked me in the face with the fact that next year is coming so soon, and there are a lot of decisions to be made. I feel like I’m sort of being pulled in two directions, and I don’t really know where to run with it. I can either pursue writing, follow Chris  Poore’s advice and either be editor in chief, managing editor or news editor next semester, or I can take Carla’s advice, drop writing, and go hardcore and just shoot pictures all next year. It seems like the choice should be easy, considering taking pictures is what I want to do, but I have to consider how I’m going to feed myself after college, and I’m not sure if my photos will be at a publishing level by the time I graduate. I don’t know what to do, and I suppose the beginning of this semester will show me which way I’m supposed to go.

That said, I’m going to leave you with this picture while I get my ass in gear and start shooting again. 🙂

Love

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lenscapremoved said, on December 29, 2007 at 10:46 am

    This is a super-nice frame and definitely portfolio material.

    And you can get published any-where you want. You have the talent, you just need to adapt it. Keep shooting. But writing is good too.

  2. captureamoment said, on December 30, 2007 at 2:28 am

    Dear emily.

    I flirted with writing and taking pictures. Its hard to do both. You are amazing at both. you have natural skill at both.

    Since we all know you are more than capable at both its time for you to pick what makes you happy. In ten years, would you rather be writing or taking pictures? What makes you happiest?

    Life is what you make it. If you really want to take pictures, you can work all night at walmart and shoot pictures all day until you get a job. If you really want to write, then you can sleep at the Kernel and put out an amazing paper 5 days a week that wins awards.

    In closing, i feel the worst thing you could do for yourself is to do both of them halfway.

    If you ever need to talk (or take pictures) , I’m always avaible. And when i say always, i mean i’m all over the place, but i will always make time for friends.

    -Britney


Leave a Reply

