life through a viewfinder

“He Signs His Name With A Capital G”

Posted in Uncategorized by Emily on January 13, 2008

Politics, politics, politics.

Photography makes me forget the world around me sometimes. It makes me forget that there is more to life than light and composition… that my country is at war. My country is at war with not only the world, but itself.

I see the evidence of war everywhere. Even if it’s just in a tattoo. It’s hard to see, but this is a tattoo of a grenade.

evarts

I’m also at war. At war with the things that I love. Photography, writing, and music. It’s becoming more and more difficult to play viola, not because my chops are falling behind, but because I have to devote less and less time to it. I’ve given up teaching, and it’s almost time to give up playing.

violinists

boy

Don’t mind my self portrait.

self

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. captureamoment said, on January 13, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    i love the photo of the little boy. it reminds me of how i felt during orchestra in middle school.

  2. lenscapremoved said, on January 14, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I gave up music to do this too. I gave up sports to play music. There’s only so much love you can give.


Leave a Reply

