life through a viewfinder

Slingin’ Ink

Posted in Uncategorized by Emily on January 18, 2008

I was nervous going into this workshop. I didn’t really know anyone, and I didn’t feel like I fit in with the other photographers. I knew I would have to not only talk a subject into working with me… I would have to find the subject. So when Christina and I headed downtown to find a story, I was anxious. We tried a flower shop and a cafe, when I saw it.

The tattoo parlor.

parlor

I knew this was definitely mine to shoot. Honestly, I didn’t have high expectations. Evarts’ downtown consists of two flower shops, a cafe, a funeral home and a tattoo parlor. So when I saw the Jaysin’s work, I was amazed. His work is fantastic!

etter

redbloodink

bloodtongue

cameratat

I could not have asked for a better guy to work with. My only regret from the workshop was not having more time. I wish I could have shot more of his home life, and I feel like my pictures were really only getting good the last night that I was there. Thank you again, Brad, for letting me borrow the 70-200, I really needed it.

doggies

I really loved his two dogs, Prissy and Nikki. I believe it was Prissy who loved my lens, but Nikki was terrified of the camera.

The next two pictures were the spark of debate. I’m not sure which I like better. Please comment with your opinion!!

debate1

debate2

More pictures to come!

Leave a Reply

